New travel rules 2023 for international flyers visiting India from these 6 countries


India is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, and with good reason. The country is home to some of the world’s most iconic places, like the Taj Mahal and the Mount Rushmore. But what about those pesky travel restrictions? Starting next year, India will start enforcing new rules for international flyers visiting the country from six countries. These countries are: Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen. Here are the new travel restrictions: -No flying to these six countries from abroad -No traveling to these six countries for tourism or business purposes -No travelling to these six countries with any kind of Indian passport or national ID card If you are an international traveler planning a trip to India in the next few years, be sure to check out these new travel rules before making your decision. You may find that your trip is no longer an option.

The 6 countries

The six countries are: Canada, China, the European Union, France, Saudi Arabia, and the United States. There are new travel rules that apply to international flyers visiting India from these countries. Here are the details:

Canada: All travellers from Canada must have a valid passport and visa for both India and their destination country. They will also need a medical certificate if they are travelling with any chronic illnesses or injuries that could require hospitalization during their stay in India.

China: As of October 1st 2018, all visitors from China must have a valid passport and a visa for India. This includes both citizens of China and foreign nationals residing in China. Visitors must also have a onward/return ticket and proof of financial responsibility should they decide to stay in India for more than 28 days.

European Union: All travellers from the European Union (EU) must have a valid passport and visa for both India and their destination country. They will also need a health insurance policy that covers chronic illness or injury while travelling in India.

France: From January 1st 2019 onwards, all visitors to France must have an electronic travel authorisation (ETA) which is needed when travelling to any country outside the European Union without a visa waiver programme. The ETA can be obtained online or at any French embassy or consulate abroad.

Saudi Arabia: Gulf nationals flying into Saudi Arabia without holding a full visa are not allowed to stay more than 72 hours unless they hold an exit permit

The new travel rules

Starting from June 1, 2018, all international flyers visiting India will need a visa of at least six months duration. Additionally, citizens of the following countries are required to apply for a 30-day tourist visa before entering India: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, China (mainland), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kosovo*, Kuwait*, Lebanon*, Libya*, Myanmar/Burma*, Nigeria, Oman*, Pakistan*, Palestine* , Qatar* , Saudi Arabia*, Somalia*, Sudan*/South Sudan* , Syria*/Iraq* and Yemen*.

For other countries such as the United States of America (USA), Canada and Australia which enjoy diplomatic ties with India and have no restrictions on visitor visas issued to Indians nationals, the usual visa requirements will continue to apply. For example: USA – a passport must be valid for at least 6 months after the proposed date of departure from India; Canada – a passport must be valid for 3 years after the issuance; Australia – a passport must be valid for 3 years after the issue. If you have visited India within the last six months or your passport has a validity remaining equal to or greater than your proposed stay in India this time (whichever is less), then you do not require a visa. However, if your proposed stay would exceed 180 days in total including both entries into and exits from India during this period then you will require a Visa.

The new travel rules come into effect from June 1st 2018 and all international flyers visiting

What to do if you’re stopped at the airport

If you’re a international flyer visiting India from one of the countries below, be aware of new travel rules that went into effect on June 1st, 2016. These changes will affect not only visitors coming to India for tourism but also business travelers who are seeking to conduct transactions in Indian rupee or remit money back home.

The new rules prohibit international travelers from carrying more than Rs 2,000 ($25) in cash and demand that all currency be stored in banknotes of Rs 100 or less. Additionally, the government has instituted sweeping security measures, including increased checks on baggage and heightened scrutiny of tourists at airports. If you’re traveling to India and have any questions about these new rules, don’t hesitate to reach out to your travel agent or consulate.

What to do if you’re refused entry to India

If you are a international flyer visiting India from one of the countries listed below, you will need to comply with new travel rules that went into effect on July 1st. Some of the changes include a ban on carrying any elephant tusks, ivory items, and other wildlife products into India. If you are traveling with any of these items, you will need to turn them in at your arrival or departure airport.

The full list of banned items can be found here:

What to do if your passport is cancelled

If you are a international flyer visiting India from one of the listed countries and your passport has been cancelled, there are some simple steps that you can take to get your travel plans back on track.

The first step is to contact the embassy or consulate of the country where you were born to find out if there is any sort of replacement document that you can use. If not, then you may need to apply for a new passport.

Once you have your new passport, make sure that all of your visa requirements are updated so that you are ready to travel when your new passport arrives. You may also want to consider cancelling any other upcoming trips while this issue is being sorted out as it will likely slow down the process.


As India continues to grow as a global power, it is important that international travelers are aware of the new travel rules in place for those visiting India from six countries. These countries are: Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. The new travel rules went into effect on January 1st, 2023 and make it difficult or impossible for citizens of these countries to visit India without prior approval from the Indian government. This includes all modes of transportation- air, land and sea. If you are traveling to India for business purposes or pleasure and your nationality falls within one of the listed countries, be sure to check with your airline or travel agency about current restrictions before departing.